Paleo Pakistani Chilli Chicken

A bowl of Paleo Pakistani chilli chicken

Paleo Pakistani Chilli Chicken

By now you have probably gathered that I am a bit of a curry fiend, or just a fiend for spices and flavour!!!  I absolutely loved this curry, but now that I don’t eat meat I just substitue the chicken for 500g of sweet potato and boy is it yummy!

Serves: 3-4

Preparation Time: 5 minutes

Cooking Time: 25 minutes

Ingredients:

125g salted raw grass-fed butter or ghee (can be susbstituted for 1/4 cup coconut oil for a vegan option)
6 cloves of garlic
1 tbsp root ginger
1 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp chilli powder
1/2 tsp (fine) Himalayan pink salt
1/4 tsp saffron
1 tbsp coconut sugar
2 tsp cardamom pods (crushed)
2 cloves
2 onions (diced)
500g chicken breast pieces (can be substitued for 500g sweet potato or mixed vegetables for a vegan option)
1 cup coconut yogurt
1 cup coconut cream (or 1/2 cup coconut milk will do too)
3 tbsp roasted slivered/chopped almonds

Method:

  1. In a pestle and mortar grind up into a rough paste your ginger, garlic, cinnamon, black pepper, chilli powder, salt, saffron and sugar.
  2. Heat your butter/ghee in a large pan or wok on a low heat until bubbling then and add your spice paste, cloves and cardamom. Cook for 3 minutes stirring frequently.
  3. Add your onions and chicken and cook until the chicken is slightly browned.
  4. Add your yogurt, cover and cook for another 3 minutes.
  5. Stir in your coconut cream and roasted chopped almonds.
  6. Simmer for 5 minutes until the sauce has reduced.
  7. Serve with a nice side of sweet potato or cauli rice!
2 comments

  1. Never apologise for being a curryhead, that’s what I say.

    My Swedish folks just don’t get the obsession with curries one bit, and have explained it away as just one of those mysterious British things. Funnily enough, they didn’t get “The Kumars at No. 42”, either…

    I bought some coconut sugar a while ago as a replacement for Indian jaggery / brown sugar but haven’t used it yet? Is it any good?

    Do you make your own coconut yoghurt? I want to start making my own, but I’m not sure where to begin, so any tips would be really welcome.

    1. Hi paleovirtus!

      Ok no more apologising now that I feel safe around my own!

      Coconut sugar has a really similar feel to jaggery but a cleaner taste so all the better. I love it. Just use in moderation obviously.

      As for coconut yogurt I haven’t made any myself as of yet as I am looking for a fully vegan starter and it seems near impossible to find. I have found a couple of resources so I shall be looking into it. As soon as I know some decent information I shall let you know but at this point I wouldn’t want to advise you of the wrong thing!

Write a comment...

